About Us

The Chorus of East Providence was incorporated as a Rhode Island non-profit organization in September 2007 and is now designated as a federal 501(c)(3) status organization.

Our Mission: to educate our members and the public about music and choral singing while fostering an appreciation of music by all, enhancing the cultural life of the community.

Beth Armstrong, Music Director

Beth Armstrong, Music DirectorBeth Armstrong is the director of the Greater Tiverton Community Chorus, in addition to the Chorus of East Providence. Recently retired from teaching at Roger Williams University, she has used her newfound free time writing her first novel. Previously, she chaired the choral department at the Music School of the Rhode Island Philharmonic, and coordinated both the Junior Providence Singers and the JPS Treble Chorus there. Before moving to Rhode Island, Beth directed the Suncook Valley Chorale in Concord, New Hampshire, and taught public school music for 12 years. A graduate of Tufts University, she pursued a master’s degree in Music Education at the University of New Hampshire. Along with her husband, Stewart, she sang in the Providence Singers for five years and currently they both sing in the choir at First Unitarian Church of Providence.

Rena Anthony, Accompanist

Rena Anthony, AccompanistRena is a retired music educator, having spent 31 years teaching middle school choir and general music in Rhode Island public schools. She holds a Bachelor of Music degree from the University of Rhode Island and a Master of Arts in Teaching from Rhode Island College. Ms. Anthony is also the Director of Music at the Church of the Transfiguration in Cranston. She accompanies several area school choirs, as well as Rhode Island All-State choirs. Currently, Ms. Anthony is studying voice with Rene de la Garza. She resides in Warwick with her husband, Michael, and daughter Madeleine.

Board of Directors 2018-2019:

Donna Gagne, President
Anne Fortier, Vice President
Judith Antonio, Secretary
Lisa Bennett, Treasurer

Directors: Marcia Bubolz, Kristin Conway, Denise Morel, Bill Wood

Section Leaders:
Karen Crowe, Soprano
Ruth Ellen Heath, Alto
Ellie Wasser, Tenor
Ed Crowe, Bass

Ex-Officio: Beth Armstrong (Music Director), Bethany Conway (Past President)